Thread: sks help/advice

Feedback Score
    25 (100%)

sks help/advice

im very new to this rifle, this is my first rifle that is bigger then a .22.
    so i was wondering what are good add-on's for it would be. there was a "dragunov type" stock on it that made it way to heavy, but some one on here was giving away a old folding stock that was welded into a fixed stock that made it a little lighter i have 2 35 round mags that go with a conversion or something? little forked piece of metal
    so can any one tell me what the best after market stock would be?
    scope or no scope ...red dot ?
    it has the railing on a extra piece that goes over the action and a 3x9 scope that does pretty well in our back yard but that's only 5-8yard targets (im pretty new to this rifle and don't know what that piece is)
    any conversions to make it take ak mags or the duck bill ones witch would be better?
    its a yugo with the on/off valve for the gas system
    anything to make it lighter would be great
    Ive read on a few sites that these will slam fire a lot on some ammo?
    anything that would help me learn more about this rifle would be greatly appreciated
    thanks!

Seattle/Kirkland. All transactions compliant.
    Feedback Score
    90 (100%)

Re: sks help/advice

Parts schematic: http://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/w...ks-parts-1.png

Stock: The "best" after market stock really depend on your taste. Some stocks are made with better quality, but most are good enough to meet the needs of a converted SKS. Sort of depends on what you like and expect from the rifle after.

Mags: Duckbill Tapco mags work well and don't require any permanent mods to the rifle. AK conversions are possible but require substantial and expensive work.

Optics: if you use them, mount them to something other than the bolt cover. Those move enough that you'll lose zero. Choate makes a nice mount that bolts to the side of the receiver but requires permanent mods.