Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Pistol from the Key Peninsula

Shooter
    Feedback Score

First Pistol from the Key Peninsula

Hey what's up guys.
    I'm just starting to learn more about firearms, handguns mostly, and since I'm now a new proud father and me and the girl just bought our first house out here on the KP I'm looking to make my first pistol purchase.
    I'm a carpenter by trade and a lifelong learner. I can catch a hobby and become an enthusiast faster than I can go through boots and one thing for sure is forums are a great place to learn,but even better if you participate so this is my story.

I own only a nice 1934 mosin nagant (Have they gone up in price?)
    I used to own a Marlin 22lr which got ripped off many years ago.

Anyway, I've been doing a bunch of the youtubery and reading reviews trying to figure out what my first handgun should be.

I did make a point to head down to Bullseye and rent their whole case, a box of 9mm and a box of .45.
    I shot a ruger p95 (hated it)
    a sig p938 loved it
    a glock 34 (Longslide?) pretty indifferent to this one

Shot the XDm.45 , hated it which was great cause I really thought I would end up buying one of these based on what I'd read.
    Shot a governemnt 1911 and put the first two rounds strait through eachother exactly where I wanted to at 3 yards, definitely feeling the hype here loved it.
    Also a G30s and really really enjoyed shooting it and actually felt very in control of the gun.

So what I learned is I prefer to shoot .45 over 9 and that compact/subcompact frames feel better. Like I get more of my hands and body behind the recoil. I'm no small dude either at 6'2" 205lbs XL size gloves.